Several new features have been added to the board, check the Announcements for more details!

How do I reformat an external HD?

Discuss all different Hardware in this forum.
User avatar

Topic Author
THCAndy
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 758
Joined: 20 Jan 2011, 17:46

How do I reformat an external HD?

Postby THCAndy » 18 Apr 2011, 07:59

My sister has one she never uses but we formatted it for her Mac. Any idea how to reformat it so it shows up on a Windows computer?
Image

User avatar

shovenose
Retired Staff
Retired Staff
Posts: 1040
Joined: 05 Feb 2011, 01:50
Tech Knowledge: Expert
Location: On the computer, of course!
Contact:

Re: How do I reformat an external HD?

Postby shovenose » 18 Apr 2011, 14:35

Right click on my computer, select manage, and then click disk management on the left. There you willvhave a list of allcthe. storage drives on the computer, and thencright click on it.

User avatar

Topic Author
THCAndy
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 758
Joined: 20 Jan 2011, 17:46

Re: How do I reformat an external HD?

Postby THCAndy » 19 Apr 2011, 14:16

It didn't show up in the Disk Management thing :l
Image

User avatar

Topic Author
THCAndy
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 758
Joined: 20 Jan 2011, 17:46

Re: How do I reformat an external HD?

Postby THCAndy » 19 Apr 2011, 16:42

Okay so we found out that the reason it wasn't showing up on the Disk Management was because it didn't have enough power.
Once we got it to show up, we had to delete the partition and make a new one formated in NTFS

Thanks! :)
Image


solidghost
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: 02 May 2011, 04:57

Re: How do I reformat an external HD?

Postby solidghost » 02 May 2011, 05:07

What do you mean by not having enough power? The USB did not provide enough power to the external HDD?

User avatar

Topic Author
THCAndy
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 758
Joined: 20 Jan 2011, 17:46

Re: How do I reformat an external HD?

Postby THCAndy » 02 May 2011, 07:16

Well I had it pluged into an extension USB. (A USB hub that turned 1 slot into 4) It makes sense if you ask me, I feel like some power is lost in the translation.

Also when my dad was doing it, he didn't have them both plugged in.
Image


Return to “Hardware Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron